Teaching Tips To-Go

Periodic 2-hour science teaching workshops open to all SFSU science lecturers and GTAs. Learn new techniques to improve your college science teaching!

Workshops for College of Science and Engineering (COSE) Lecturers and GTAs

SEPAL hosts periodic pedagogy workshops open to all science lecturers and GTAs. Participants learn practical, easy-to-use teaching techniques to improve their college science teaching, as well as share their teaching teaching challenges and successes with a group of like-minded colleagues.  Join us!

Who: All COSE faculty, lecturers and TAs

When: Five workshops held on Tuesdays (A Series) and Fridays (B Series) in Fall 2009.  Each workshop is offered twice (Series A and B) to accommodate COSE instructors’ teaching schedules. Mark your calendars!

Fall 2009 Teaching Tips To-Go Dates and Tentative Topics:

  • Workshop #1: Getting Your Students Talking (and Thinking!)
    Series A: Tuesday, September 1 3:00-5:00 pm
    Series B: Friday, September 11 10:00 am-12:00 pm
  • Workshop #2: Using Questions to Promote Student Llearning: For exams, quizzes, and beyond
    Series A: Tuesday, September 22 3:00-5:00 pm
    Series B: Friday, September 25 10:00 am-12:00 pm
  • Workshop #3: The Importance of Knowing Students’ Misconceptions
    Series A: Tuesday, October 13 3:00-5:00 pm
    Series B: Friday, October 16 10:00 am-12:00 pm
  • Workshop #4: Creating Classrooms that Accomodate Diverse Student Learners
    Series A: Tuesday, November 3 3:00-5:00 pm
    Series B: Friday, November 6 10:00 am-12:00 pm
  • Workshop #5: Topic TBD
    Series A: Tuesday, December 1 3:00-5:00 pm
    Series B: Friday, December 11 10:00 am-12:00 pm

Where: Workshops will be held in Hensill Hall Room 501 (A Series) and Room 245 (B Series).

How: Teaching Tips To-Go will be on hiatus during the 2011-2012 academic year.